Weary of Life

It’s crazy how capable the human mind can be. It has the ability to experience an average of 50,000 thoughts per day; which makes it 18,250,000 thoughts per year. So, assuming you live to be 80, your mind would have thought an average of 1,460,000,000 thoughts. That’s an incredible number of thoughts. No wonder it’s only a matter of time that our minds start getting tired.

Tired (adjective): in need of rest or sleep, weary.

Because this is exactly how I feel in the middle of the night when all I want to do is sleep, but am haunted by the thoughts running through my mind. Tired of tossing and turning in bed until my blankets are covered with sweat and my hair is sticking to every inch of my face.

Tired (adjective): bored or impatient with.

Tired is what I feel every morning when I open my eyes. The air around me seems to weigh a few tons every time I to try to force myself off the bed. The rest of the day goes by in a tired haze; some moments always longer than the others. It is these moments that leave me battered and restless until I can reach to the confines of my bed.

Tired (adjective): boring or uninteresting because over familiar.

Even though I’ve been craving this moment since the day started, I’m still tired when I find myself back in bed. the same bed I’ve spent countless hours on. Tired because even though I wanted a bed, I don’t want this particular one. It gives me the same old feeling which tires me because I want something to distract me from my colourless days that seem to be merging together.

Tired (verb): to lose interest in.

I grab a book from the shelf beside- a different one this time. But it doesn’t help because I’ve done this way too many times all the same. Even the sight of the book tires me and I keep staring at it until I discard it.

tired (verb): to feel in need of rest or sleep.

I look at my reflection for the second and last time at the end of the day and all I can seem to see are my tired eyes staring back at me. It takes a while to realise that they’re just lifeless black holes.

 

Leave a Reply

